Author Topic: Hello Everyone!!  (Read 2350 times)

Offline Mark.j

Hello Everyone!!
« on: June 30, 2017, 09:54:51 PM »
 My name is Mark, I live in Atlanta Georgia.
 I started getting into home machining as a hobby a few years ago. Ive been around model engines my whole life, my father was an avid collector of model airplane engines and he had an extensive collection. (I now own that collection and cherish it). Like him, Ive always marveled at the beauty of all things mechanical.

Im an aircraft mechanic and learned the basics of machine operation and metrology  through work. Ive been watching these forums and day dreaming for some time now and thought it was about time to get out to the shop and see if I could build an engine.

I fell in love with the little Liney Halo 5 cylinder radial but I figured it probably was a poor choice for a first engine. So I purchased plans and materials for the Liney RV-1 and Thimble engines. Ive had a great time building them. They run well and it was a great experience. Now the list of must build engines is starting to grow. I just purchased the plans and materials for a little 0-4-0 toy steam loco from the Little Machine shop, and that will be my next project, after that, Ive got my eye on a hoglet V-twin..... Anyway, here are a few pictures of the two Ive built so far. Looking forward to finally participating in the forum!

Online Kim

• Global Moderator
  • Portland, Oregon, USA
Re: Hello Everyone!!
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2017, 10:01:21 PM »
Hi Mark,
Welcome to the forum!  Those are some very nice little engines you've made there!

You should post some pictures of your shop & equipment too, in the "My Workshop" section so we can see what you use to build these beauties!

Kim

Offline Pthunberg

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2017, 10:09:42 PM »
Very nice looking engines. I really like the RV1. I am also new to the site and am currently working on my third engine.

Paul

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA