Author Topic: Wood cladding of boilers.  (Read 10715 times)

Offline Gas_mantle

• North Yorks - UK.
    • My Youtube channel
Re: Wood cladding of boilers.
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2017, 04:13:32 PM »
Thanks MJM

I've now got the wood strips so intend to have a go at doing the cladding over the weekend.

At the moment I have a 450g gas cartridge attached and it hasn't yet run out so it's difficult at the moment to assess how much fuel I burn. I do have a hand feed pump so running out of water isn't an issue and I'd rather have a tank that will hold enough for a reasonable run time without needing a refill. The reason I asked is the purpose built tanks seemed small to me and I kind of jumped to the conclusion I'd need a large one even on a 3" boiler with the burner I have.

I did time it earlier today to see how fast it boils in it's present unlagged state and it takes 2.5mins to lift the gauge off 0psi, 4.5 mins to 30psi and 6.5 mins to 60psi. I've never done this before so no idea how that compares to other boilers but I thought that seemed fairly quick although it does only hold about 0.45 ltr

I'm just curious to see how much difference the lagging will make :-)

Thanks
Peter

Offline Gas_mantle

• North Yorks - UK.
    • My Youtube channel
« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2017, 07:41:20 PM »
Thanks to those who offered advice, I've managed to lag the boiler sooner than expected so I took a before and after photo. It's not perfect by any means but I'm reasonably happy with how it turned out.

As for the performance, it reaches 30 psi in about the same time but achieves 60psi in about 5 mins 45 sec compared to 6 mins 30sec  unlagged - admittedly it was a crude test but the boil time does appear to have reduced.

The main improvement I can see is it can now maintain 60psi whilst powering a Stuart 10h at high rpm, previously it could only maintain about 30psi.

Just need to clad the top cap now - I hadn't intended doing that but it doesn't look right without  :)