Author Topic: Copper for boilers  (Read 16362 times)

Offline tangler

• Christchurch, UK
Re: Copper for boilers
« Reply #15 on: January 05, 2017, 11:23:09 PM »
I'll re-ask part of Rods post: reworded: Is silver brazing going to result in an oxygen problem the same as welding would??? Brazing doesn't melt the base metal....

Pete

I'm no expert on copper alloys.  This may be of help: https://www.copper.org/publications/pub_list/pdf/a1050.pdf.  An excerpt from page 7 is appended:

Rod

Offline 10KPete

• Nordland, WA, USA
« Reply #16 on: January 06, 2017, 01:49:39 AM »
Thanks for that, Rod!!

I've done a ton of welding and been exposed to a ton a metalurgy and everything I've learned says that for the feared embrittlement to  occur the temperature must be at or very near melting. But I'm no expert so I always seek the advice of those more learned than I.

I will continue to silver braze with no fear of compromising the material, what ever the alloy!!!!!

Pete
Craftsman, Tinkerer, Curious Person.
Retired, finally!
SB 10K lathe, Benchmaster mill. And stuff.

Offline SandCam

• West Coast of Scotland UK
« Reply #17 on: January 06, 2017, 12:50:44 AM »
Hi Pete,

I would suggest you review this excerpt from the same publication.

"Page 38

Brazing Copper

Oxygen-bearing coppers are susceptible to oxide migration and Hydrogen embrittlement at elevated temperatures. These Coppers should be furnace brazed in an inert atmosphere or torch brazed with a neutral or slightly oxidising flame."

If you can't provide the correct atmospheric conditions then you could well be in trouble.
Best bet is to use de-oxidised Copper and not worry about it.

Rod,
As for the regulations and the Green Book etc... I don't propose to get into a heated discussion on this other than to say that whilst a lot of the PSSR 2000 stuff is not applicable a great deal of the PER regulations are and have been since 2002... with amendements in 2013.