Author Topic: Fabricating a Flywheel  (Read 14951 times)

Offline tinglett

• Rochester, MN, USA
Fabricating a Flywheel
« on: November 15, 2016, 01:16:11 AM »
Fabricating a Flywheel

In prep for my next engine build, and because time in 2016 is running short and I'd like to accomplish something, I thought I'd fabricate the flywheel.  I'd like to include things I've never done before:
  • Fabricate spokes, rim, and hub from different parts
  • Cut curved spokes
  • Heat the rim and go for a friction fit with the spokes
And maybe other things will come out of it as well.  I'm hoping a build log of this stuff is ok in this part of the forum.  For background here are a few links and photos from other builds.

Arnold's elmers#5 engine's flywheel caught my attention with friction fitting a plate inside a rim. http://www.modelenginemaker.com/index.php/topic,4087.46.html   Here's a direct link to an image from his build log so you know what I'm talking about.

Don fabricated a flywheel for the Benson Vertical engine here.   http://www.modelenginemaker.com/index.php/topic,3702.255.html  It was made in a few phases including bending the rim from a straight bar of brass if I recall correctly.  Wow.  Here's a link to a finished image, but beware you might need sunglasses for that fantastic shine!

Chris' built-up MEM Corliss build fabricated a flywheel too.  It can be seen starting around here:  http://www.modelenginemaker.com/index.php/topic,5980.270.html

Here's a small image of it

and a big image you should be able to see if you are logged in (otherwise it will appear broken)

Simon's build of the Mancaster's Joys Valve engine also had a nice fabricated flywheel.   The discussion starts here http://www.modelenginemaker.com/index.php/topic,2470.msg75284.html#msg75284

Here's the final flywheel.  Like I said, very nice!  Some silver soldering work there, too.

Jason fabricated a curved spoke pulley with discussion starting around here