Author Topic: Line-Shaft Clutch  (Read 15547 times)

Offline Brian Rupnow

• Barrie, Ontario Canada
Re: Line-Shaft Clutch
« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2016, 10:57:26 PM »
Well, it sorta/kinda works. The angle on the contact surfaces which I arbitrarily picked as being 45 degrees is too steep. I have a 45 degree angle on the nose of that 3/4" diameter slider and with the lathe running at about 60 rpm I can hold the pulley drum from rotating with a finger. If I use my other hand to force that 3/4" diameter slider against the "arms", the shoes do expand and make the drum rotate. However, I am sure a shallower angle will make things work with a lot less effort.

Offline Brian Rupnow

• Barrie, Ontario Canada
« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2016, 11:57:17 PM »
I changed the angle on the end of that 3/4" slider to an included angle of 60 degrees instead of 90 degrees, and it made a tremendous difference. The clutch is working just as I hoped it would. You have to keep in mind that those sliding shoes only have to move about .015" to make the difference between engaged and disengaged. If they had to travel any real distance, then I'm sure they would "cock over" and bind badly. I can feel a video coming on---

Offline 90LX_Notch

• North Eastern Pennsylvania USA
    • YouTube Channel
« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2016, 01:49:11 AM »
Brian-

Nicely done.

Based on what I see, I do think 1/2 scale is feasible.  The challenge is of course the t-slot.  However, I believe that John's diarama would work out to be 3/4 scale of your clutch (3/16 vs 1/4 shaft).  This makes it very attainable.  At 1/2 scale the 4-40 screws work out to 0-80 and at 3/4 scale they would be 2-56.  0-80 can be nerve wracking; 2-56 isn't bad.

-Bob
Proud Member of MEM

My Engine Videos on YouTube-
http://www.youtube.com/user/Notch90usa/videos

Offline J.L.

• Rest In Peace
« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2016, 02:32:05 AM »
Nicely don Brian!  :ThumbsUp:

Brian, if I may, through you to Bob.

Hi Bob,