Author Topic: Greetings from Cape Town  (Read 7360 times)

Offline Radio Head

Greetings from Cape Town
« on: September 06, 2016, 01:12:48 PM »
Hello everyone, my name is John and I live in the mother city of South Africa, Cape Town. I stumbled upon your community after doing some or other workshop-related search and was really impressed by the quality of your work and forum exchanges.

I'm a lathe and mill novice, having bought a Myford Super 7 last year after much research, umming and aahing. Turns out it was quite a lucky find, what with having the full power feed gearbox and various accessories. The previous owner was the only one, and his box of "junk" is testimony to his decades of dedication. It's in pretty good condition for its age, and if I learn half of what he seems to have known I'll be happy.

I'm primarily an amateur radio operator, with an appreciation for equipment from the nineteen-seventies and eighties. This has taken me into servicing a certain amount of vacuum-tube rigs and I've built a high-power vacuum tube amplifier. The very "mechanical" style of this technology has fascinated me (compared to the all-digital software-based kit nowadays). Have a look inside a vacuum tube and you'll see what I mean... :)

Anyway, I've built a fair amount of antennas and masts, as well as an antenna rotator (some pics here https://flic.kr/s/aHsjvAMC5h and here https://flic.kr/s/aHsjvpSaWV). Coupled with servicing of old rigs, I've always had a need to up my game on the mechanical front. One of these days I'll get around to a Morse code paddle key since it presents a nice challenge. As it is I have work colleagues bringing me their motorcycle bits and pieces to replicate, which I relish as "school fees" in machining.

I recently got a vertical mill slide for the lathe and that's opened a whole new area for me in terms of what can be done in metal.

Looking forward to lots of learning... :NotWorthy:

Regards,
John.

Online Jo

• Administrator