Author Topic: Which glow plug?  (Read 5440 times)

Offline RayW

Which glow plug?
« on: May 02, 2016, 07:38:15 PM »
I am intending to use continuously connected glow plug ignition for my 1895 Otto as it is the nearest thing to the original hot tube ignition, but I have no experience of using glow plugs, so have no idea what sort I need.
I know that they come in various heat settings but can anyone give me some guidance please? The building notes translated from the German simply say "use a glow plug without an idle bar".
Ray

Offline Flyboy Jim

• Independence, Oregon
Re: Which glow plug?
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2016, 08:15:13 PM »
I don't know if these are the type of glow plugs you're referring to, but here's a couple of links that might be useful:

http://www.osengines.com/glowplugs/index.html

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXCB26&P=ML

Jim
Sherline 4400 Lathe
Sherline 5400 Mill
"You can do small things on big machines, but you can do small things on small machines".

Offline RayW

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2016, 09:07:29 PM »
Thanks Jim. I know that I will have to have the glow plug continuously connected to a battery as the engine is quite slow running and will not keep the plug hot enough otherwise, but the different heat ranges are pretty confusing.

Ray
Ray

Offline Vixen

• Hampshire UK
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2016, 09:25:19 PM »
The 'idle bar' glow plugs are designed for the specific needs of four stoke model aircraft engines. The 'idle bar' is a a small steel bar welded across the end of the glow plug and shields the platinum glow plug coil and helps maintain temperature during slow running, an alternative name is 'idling bar'. So you need to look for an 'idle bar' glow plug in the shop or catalog. The OS Type F may be a good starting point.