Author Topic: Port areas  (Read 5068 times)

Offline Bikerbob

• Rest In Peace
Port areas
« on: April 26, 2016, 02:43:53 PM »
Good day guys
Total newbie and attempting to draw my first steam engine 1 1/4" bore x 1" stroke. The plan I am using for reference  indicates 3/16 dia steam ports; these seem large compared to other engines. Is there a rule of thumb between area of bore to port area that can be used for sizing?
Second I was going to use a "O" ring or PTFE ring on the piston; which would you recommend for operation on compressed air?
What clearance would you recommend between piston and bore?
Thank you for your attention
Bikerbob
Bikerbob

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA
    • Workbench-Miniatures
Re: Port areas
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2016, 03:03:09 PM »
Hi Bob, first off welcome to the forum though I see you have been a member for a while now. When you can, please pose an introduction in the "introduce yourself" section so more may see your interests, types of machines used, etc. to better answer your questions.

That said, 3/16" does sound a bit large even for a 1 1/4" bore. Are you talking about the ports in the steam chest though or the angled ports leading from the steam ports to both ends of the cylinder? It might help to know what you are patterning your plans after as well if possible. As for rings, PTFE is good and is normally what is supplied from such vendors as PM Research with their casting kits, though others have used O-rings successfully also. Personally I would prefer the PTFE ones. If you are only using one ring, A closer piston/bore clearance might be advisable....something like .001-.0015", allowing the ring to take up the difference. Two rings would give the piston an bit more stability though with two points of contact rather than just the one. Just my 2 cents.

Bill

Offline Bikerbob

• Rest In Peace
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2016, 05:42:19 PM »