Author Topic: Help required on hulls  (Read 7173 times)

Offline Robert Hornby

• Terrigal NSW Australia
Help required on hulls
« on: March 28, 2016, 06:22:52 AM »
I am getting close to commencing work on Columbines hull which will be fibreglass with timber interior and decking. I have sketched up my thoughts on the hull design below the water line but I stress I have no sensible knowledge of this and am requesting some guidance on this aspect. If there is anyone out there who has experience/knowledge of hulls (the prototype was built in 1890) I would be forever grateful.

Robert

Age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill

Offline Jayville

Re: Help required on hulls
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2016, 07:03:36 AM »
Robert...I can't help but will be following with interest..always wanted to build a small steam launch...please show your progress...clem.   Tasmania

Offline michaelr

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2016, 09:39:06 AM »
 Free plans on this site may help you with frame design and give you a idea of what's required for a model steam boat hull.

http://www.john-tom.com/html/SteamPlans.html

Mike.

Offline Ramon Wilson

• Suffolk in the UK
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2016, 10:38:41 AM »
Hi Robert - I would say you will need a bit more in the way of cross sections through the length of the hull for it to be fair. Try Googling - 'Lofting Lines for a boat hull' - Full size or model the principle is the same. Once you have the lines the hull (or form) is relatively straight forward to construct.

Not teaching granny here but are you aware you can build a fibre glass hull on the outside of a form i.e. you do not have to make a mould in order to make a hull - unless of course you want two of them  ;)

Regards - Ramon

"I ain't here for the long time but I am here for a good time"
(a very apt phrase - thanks to a well meaning MEM friend)

Offline steamer

• Global Moderator
  • Central Massachusetts, USA
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2016, 02:04:06 PM »