Author Topic: Real World Model Building  (Read 9386 times)

Offline Grant Jones

Real World Model Building
« on: March 01, 2016, 06:24:07 PM »
This dissertation is really more about how/what we build rather than what we build it with.

My background is Mechanical Engineering. In the time I have been doing model engineering projects I have made a few observations that I want to make comment on.
 These comments are specific to all components that are constructed by the casting process and machined to finished size.

In the real world (long before the advent of CNC), the process of casting is/was selected for many good reasons:

1.       -It allows odd shaped parts to be mass produced.

2.       -It allows non-critical surfaces to be left in their cast state, with machining labour expended only on critical  surfaces.

3.       -Types of cast metals are generally very machinable.

As model builders I think we lose sight or do not know these aspects of the real world.
I note that builders machine several, if not all of the surfaces on a giving casting, something that does not happen in the real world.
If we are building a true model of the real world, it should look like the real thing!

There are two forms of drawings for a cast component. The first drawing is the patternmaker’s. His drawing takes into account the mould-making process, and for this reason, expresses dimensions in a more approximate form, which is usually whole numbers and fractions (in the Imperial system). The second drawing is that of the machinist’s. First of all, his drawing should denote all surfaces requiring machining by placing small “V”’s on the drawing. Secondly the drawing is dimensioned in whole/decimal numbers, with the number of decimal places indicating the precision of machining.