Author Topic: Making a small marine steam engine the beginners way.  (Read 16980 times)

Offline Gas_mantle

• North Yorks - UK.
    • My Youtube channel
Making a small marine steam engine the beginners way.
« on: February 07, 2016, 07:12:12 PM »
Hi all,

Although I've been a member here a while now I have yet to post any build work but have decided now to give it a go. I'm a beginner to this hobby and so far have only made very simple wobbler engines and  now just about finished making Stewart Harts' Potty mill engine.

I don't have a mill yet but expecting to buy one in the next few weeks so needed a simple project to tide me over for a while till I get a mill - I decided to have a go at making a small twin cylinder double acting marine style engine.

The engine will be to my own design - I've got an idea in my head how it will look but other than that I'm just going to make it up as I go along - Stewarts' cylinder and valve design for the Potty mill worked well so I intend to broadly stick to something similar with different dimensions.

As this is all fairly new to me I'd really appreciate any advice / tips as well as criticisms or prompts if you think I've overlooked something etc.

At the moment I've damaged the standard lens on my camera and having to use a zoom for now so please forgive me if the images aren't great.

So here goes -

I decided on cylinders made from aluminium and wanted flanged ends to mount the from below and to secure the cylinder heads. I didn't photograph turning the main body as it's fairly self explanatory, the first step of any challenge was to machine a flat face to accept the valve chest.

As I don't have a mill I chose to take facing cuts with the cylinder mounted across the chuck, I kinda don't like doing this but the  home made tool in the picture is pretty effective :-

Once near to size a small boring bar enable me to get close to the flanged ends without fouling up :-