Author Topic: Home Brew ER16 Collet Chuck  (Read 9472 times)

Offline PJW

Re: Home Brew ER16 Collet Chuck
« Reply #15 on: February 01, 2016, 10:22:52 AM »
Hi Allen, I made two chucks, one on a Cowells & one for a Perris I am selling,on both machines I turned a mandrel true to the lathe I was putting the chuck on, on this mandrel I put a collet & clocked the top slide to run parallel to the taper, this seems to work as both chucks seem to work well & run true.
I made an ERE25 chuck for my larger lathe using the same procedure & have used this a lot over the last 18 months since I made it.
Give it a try all you can loose is a couple of quids worth of steel and a few hours. I am not a top engineer with letters after my name, I am just an old guy who got a lathe three years ago had a play on it joined the forum and ask when I am not sure,

Peter
Old Guys Rule the Dark Side of the Shed!

Offline DTR

• UK
« Reply #16 on: February 01, 2016, 03:55:34 PM »
Thanks for posting, PJW. I want to make an ER chuck for my mill soon and your WIP has given me some tips :)
Dave

Offline Mosey

• Rosemont, New Jersey, USA
« Reply #17 on: February 01, 2016, 04:33:21 PM »
Great job! I put it on my list also, as I need a W-12 to ER-16 holder.
Funny how we fuss over a commercial collet system to make sure it is <0.0002" TIR, and then make one for ourselves on the lathe. I guess the best I could hope for on my lathe would be 0.0010" TIR without an internal cylindrical grinder.
Am I kidding myself?
Sherline shows how to recut the internal taper in their collet blocks on the lathe for higher precision.
This is a mystery to me.
Mosey  :headscratch:

Offline steve-de24

« Reply #18 on: February 01, 2016, 06:19:34 PM »
Mosey,
have you got a link to the Sherline web page you refer to - I've looked for it without success.
Thanks in advance, Steve

Online Twizseven

« Reply #19 on: February 01, 2016, 08:48:08 PM »
Peter,