Author Topic: Bending rolls  (Read 30500 times)

Offline Don1966

• Columbia, MS
Re: Bending rolls
« Reply #30 on: January 24, 2016, 04:17:07 PM »
Hi Rich, the 16 DP would work for a 22 tooth 14.5PA gear at 1.5" diameter. The 20 DP would work for a 28 tooth 14.5PA gear at 1.5" diameter.
Check in plans and drawings for my calculation sheets on gears.  http://www.modelenginemaker.com/index.php/topic,4860.0.html

Don
« Last Edit: January 24, 2016, 04:20:54 PM by Don1966 »

Offline Firebird

• East Midlands UK
« Reply #31 on: January 24, 2016, 06:24:21 PM »
Hi

Thanks Jason and Don, all saved and printed.  :ThumbsUp:

When I said I have no experience of gear cutting thats not quite true. A while back I mastered (well mastered isn't quite the right term, managed would be better) cutting T5 timing belt gears. I don't possess a dividing head so did it on a rotary table. I used gear sizes that were easily divisible into 360°. On that basis I would have to go for 20 teeth, but the 16DP cutter will only do 21-25 or up the tooth number to 24. What do you think? I'll go over to ebay and see how much cutters cost as to whether I can justify the expense for a one off job. I'll report back later.
Cheers

Rich

Offline Jasonb

• Surrey, UK
« Reply #32 on: January 24, 2016, 06:47:04 PM »
As the gears are not going to be whizzing around I should think you could get away with using the 21T to do a 20T gear. Best thing would be to make the gears first then measure the actual ctr distance by meshing two together. The two on the rollers will never be mexhing correctly with the B gears anyway.

May also be worth looking for cheap gears on e-bay, I picked up a set of 2:1 bevels in MOD 1.5 for £6 delivered and they were hardened too.

Offline Firebird

• East Midlands UK
« Reply #33 on: January 24, 2016, 07:08:02 PM »
Hi Jason