Author Topic: Tracking Bots and Cookies  (Read 11924 times)

Offline Stuart

• Tilchestune UK
Re: Tracking Bots and Cookies
« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2012, 08:26:07 AM »
George

As I am a dev for apple software I do know that OSX does not have the windows type registry as its based on UNIX which does not require one

John   Safari asks you if it should remember passwords  , These are able to be removed and viewed by the user ( admin ) under password control ( this one is not remembered )

Stuart
My aim is for a accurate part with a good finish

Offline Maryak

• Rest In Peace
  • Aldinga Beach South Australia
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2012, 11:44:32 AM »

Replacing cookies with something else is a real challenge for the programmers of the world to think about doing.  All of us who use PayPal to receive purchases and make payments, all of us who sign into eBay or other favorite "Business" sites must have cookies to assure that it is really you that is checking in, and from a known computer system, where a cookie has been placed and recorded by the sender as a personal identifier that is unique to your, your system, and the sender.  It is actually a great system, that has worked for years.  The difficulty with the system has come about due to the greed of many who have found out how to collect and sell information to others for what they call a "Mutual Benefit."

George

George,