Author Topic: Another silly question...  (Read 2498 times)

Offline Allen Smithee

• Mordor, Middle Earth
Another silly question...
« on: January 10, 2016, 04:46:03 PM »
So I'm progressively accumulating the bits I need to do the coffee-cup stirling engine I've chosen as a practice project. This engine has a perspex displacer cylinder with aluminium disks above and below, and the disks have a 3mm groove cut in the face to seat the perspex against a soft gasket. It occurred to me that cutting face-grooves is on the list of things I've never done before*.

Thinking from scratch leads me to two tool designs, one made from a bit of round toolsteel and the other from a bit of square. Am I on the right track or is there a better way of doing this?

AS

*This list is rather a long one
Quidquid latine dictum sit altum sonatur

Offline Jasonb

• Surrey, UK
Re: Another silly question...
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2016, 04:49:46 PM »
Thats the right idea, plenty of clearance so the tool does not rub on the outer edge of the groove. I usually grind from square but no reason not to use round. Infact you could just grind right across a bit of small round, so long as its held rididly with minimal overhand it will do the job.

J

Offline Vixen

• Hampshire UK
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2016, 04:55:18 PM »
Allen
Do you have the equipment necessary to mount the discs on a rotary table and mill the groove with a 3mm mill cutter? Alternatively you could mill the groove with a spindle on the lathe saddle and the disc on the faceplate. It all depends on what equipment you have or intend to get.

Mike
It is the journey that matters, not the destination

Sometimes, it can be a long and winding road

Offline mklotz

• LA, CA, USA
    • SOFTWARE FOR PEOPLE WHO BUILD THINGS!
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2016, 05:00:00 PM »