Author Topic: Steam Tractor 3/4" (Rudy K)  (Read 242129 times)

Online Kim

• Global Moderator
  • Portland, Oregon, USA
Re: Steam Tractor 3/4" (Rudy K)
« Reply #960 on: November 22, 2017, 05:27:52 AM »
The rule of thumb for how deep to tap taper pipe NPT threads is to go until 6 thread of the tap are still sticking above the surface.
That's a good rule of thumb to keep in mind!  I've not heard that before (not surprising, since I have no experience with NTP threads  :embarassed: ).

As for boiler bushings, phosphor bronze is good and machines much more easily than Cu.
That could have been a good idea too.  In this case, Rudy specifies copper, for everything on the boiler, and since its my first experience here, I'm trying to follow his lead quite closely.  But it will be good to know for next time.  I think Kozo uses bronze for most of the bushings on the boiler for the A3 Switcher, so that fits exactly with what you're saying.

Thanks Rklopp,
Kim

Online Kim

• Global Moderator
  • Portland, Oregon, USA
« Reply #961 on: November 23, 2017, 05:11:43 AM »
I didn’t have a lot of shop time today, with family obligations and all, but I did make a little progress.  I made the boiler tubes.

These were 6” lengths of 3/16” copper tube. I annealed one end and bent them as shown in the drawing.  I made a little bending mandrel  out of a scrap piece of brass, and clamped it in my bench vice:

And bent the tube at a slightly more than 90 degree angle, like so:

Then I cut the back end of the tube at an angle (probably not required, but it seemed right).  Here are all three tubes ready to go.

And what they look like fitted into the boiler:

Not sure when I’ll get out to the shop next, but when I do, it will be silver solder time!
Kim

Offline 10KPete

• Nordland, WA, USA
« Reply #962 on: November 23, 2017, 05:58:37 AM »
That is one cool way to put in simple water tubes. I may try that on a little boiler I have in mind... :thinking:

Pete
Craftsman, Tinkerer, Curious Person.