Author Topic: Getting a good steam seal on a small engine.  (Read 6802 times)

Offline Gas_mantle

• North Yorks - UK.
    • My Youtube channel
Getting a good steam seal on a small engine.
« on: September 12, 2015, 08:14:58 PM »
Hi all,

I'm a beginner to model engineering and at the moment I'm building a small horizontal steam engine, the piston is brass and 16 mm in dia with the plans recommending a graphite packed sealing ring. The smallest piece of graphite rope I've been able to get is 3mm square but this seems to me to be too big on a 16mm piston.

I've never used graphite before so not really sure how to use it, do others think a 3mm piece will be too large ? Can I unpick it or thin it down with a knife ?

Would making a sealing ring from rolled up PTFE 'rope' be a better solution ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
Peter

Offline Jasonb

• Surrey, UK
Re: Getting a good steam seal on a small engine.
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2015, 08:46:53 PM »
I just unravel a length of the graphite yarn and use what I need.

J

Offline kev

• Portsmouth UK
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2015, 08:59:34 PM »
You can get 1.6mm diameter "string" ebay sometimes or some of the model shops like maidstone or macc models

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA
    • Workbench-Miniatures
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2015, 11:16:17 PM »
Peter, how wide/deep is the ring groove?

Bill

Offline fumopuc

• Munich, Germany, EU
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2015, 05:43:55 AM »
Hi Peter, if you are located in the UK or Europe, may be this will help you.
http://www.maidstone-engineering.com/graphite-yarn-1-16-twist-approx-5ft-may-contain-asbestos
Kind Regards
Achim

Offline Gas_mantle

• North Yorks - UK.
    • My Youtube channel
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2015, 08:09:47 AM »
Hi all,