Author Topic: 1870 Stationary Steam Engine  (Read 13354 times)

Offline DavidL

1870 Stationary Steam Engine
« on: August 17, 2015, 07:25:55 AM »
I found this photo of a Riches & Watts industrial steam engine built circa 1870.  It appealed so much that I decided to attempt a model based on that picture.  I'm not into casting, so all the component parts are being machined from stock. (At my age and being a real novice, I reckon on steering clear of molten metal!)

Firstly I drew up a set of working drawings and constructed a 3D CAD model of the engine.  If anyone is interested, I'm happy to share the drawings, but be aware that the engine is under construction and the drawings will surely have errors to be corrected as the build progresses.  I'm attaching some photographs of the build progress to date together with a 3D view of how I envisiage the completed engine will look like.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2015, 07:32:22 AM by DavidL »

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA
    • Workbench-Miniatures
Re: 1870 Stationary Steam Engine
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2015, 02:06:53 PM »
Nice David, I'd say you are off to a great start!! Will the governor be functional or just decorative?

Bill

Offline Jasonb

• Surrey, UK
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2015, 03:49:40 PM »
Hi David its interesting that you say its a Riches & Watts as it looks to be a Tidman organ engine which I have just started to scratch build myself. There is also a sull size Tidman being built in Model Engineeer mag at the moment. I think the one on the etching in the background is a Richie & Watts but the engine in the foreground is a Tidman

What scale are you building it to? mine is 2/3rds full size.

J
« Last Edit: August 17, 2015, 03:55:19 PM by Jasonb »

Offline DavidL

« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2015, 12:47:01 AM »
Hi Bill,