Engines > From Kits/Castings

Double Tandem Compound Horizontal Mill engine.

(1/115) > >>

Jo:
This set of castings was generously purchased for me  :whoohoo: by my company for my 21 year long service award. I have never seen one of these model engines complete the nearest I can provide is this drawing of half of the engine:

The casting set came from Brunell Steam Model Engineering. I seem to recall paying ?325 for the casting set in 2002, today it will set you back ?441. 

http://www.brunell.com/product.asp?numPageStartPosition=11&strPageHistory=cat&strKeywords=&strSearchCriteria=&PT_ID=69&P_ID=131&btnProduct=More+Details

What I got for my money as a set of gunmetal and aluminium castings:

I chose not to buy the aluminium baseplate as I was concerned about cleaning it up and possible ?slumping? in the casting and opted to use a sheet of 1/8? brass

I started the engine in 2003 and turned up most of the casting by the end of 2004 when I started painting and assembly:

This is where it all went wrong: The paint I had chosen was a Maroon used for Volvo?s, I foolishly only purchased one tin of the colour and by the time I got ? the way through the painting and went to buy another can I found that the colour had changed and everything I had done needed repainting :facepalm:. (Did I mention I hate painting? :paranoia:) The long and short was the delay in getting suitable paint saw the engine shelved, then I did my PhD which changed my perspective on everything so now I am going through all my half-finished engines and finishing them, this time I am finishing off this engine. This is what she looked like when I picked her up again.

Before anyone goes out to buy a set of castings a few words of warning: I don't know how I am going to run this engine when she is finished, as the swept volume of her cylinders is as big as my 5? Super simplex :Doh: and I am aware that getting things out of Brunell has been a challenging of late.