Author Topic: Vickie Stirling Engine  (Read 75764 times)

Offline wagnmkr

• Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Re: Vickie Stirling Engine
« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2015, 12:53:53 AM »
Well, you got me interested ...I have printed out the plans and I am studying them ... we'll see.

That front frame looks a bit complicated.

Tom
I was cut out to be rich ... but ... I was sewn up all wrong!

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA
    • Workbench-Miniatures
« Reply #16 on: April 21, 2015, 01:03:41 AM »
Jump right in Tom. That front plate isn't as bad as it appears thought there is some rotary table work to it, especially for some of the decorations Jerry added to this design. I am glad to see that Jerry's site now offers plans via download now too.

Bill

Offline wagnmkr

« Reply #17 on: April 21, 2015, 10:09:20 AM »
Bill, I have a 6" rotary table and a dividing head on it so that should be big enough. I'll check my aluminum to see what is in the bin.

Thanks for the encouragement.

Tom

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA
    • Workbench-Miniatures
« Reply #18 on: April 21, 2015, 12:34:48 PM »
Tom,
 I was lucky enough to find a short piece of 5/8" thick aluminum from one of the vendors at CF. This was enough to make the three main pieces of the frame with a small scrap left over...$6.00 and no shipping :)  They have been cut up to rough size now as shown below...though it hardly looks like an engine yet. My RT is only 4" in dia. but I think I can make it work. If not I have access to larger ones.

Bill

Offline wagnmkr

« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2015, 02:40:35 PM »
I found the required aluminum for all the frame bits. It was covered with dust and cobwebs so it has been there for a while. I will have a go at the front frame and if I can get that done, I will carry on.

It will be a bit before I get a start as I really need to finish cutting several sets of gears. Once that is the mill will be free for a new challenge.

Cheers

Tom