Author Topic: Gear Pump  (Read 19870 times)

Offline Brian Rupnow

• Barrie, Ontario Canada
Gear Pump
« on: January 08, 2015, 07:33:39 PM »
I may build a gear pump, just for interest sake. I finally bought the last cutter for my 24 DP gear set which will let me cut 12 and 13 tooth gears, and I have never built a gear pump before. The drawing isn't finished yet, so don't shoot me. I haven't put the shafts in, nor the near side cover, but I will get to it. If you are interested, then follow along.---Brian
« Last Edit: January 08, 2015, 10:00:48 PM by Brian Rupnow »

Offline Bearcar1

• Chicagoland Area, USA
Re: Gear Pump
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2015, 08:08:09 PM »
Looks quite interesting….  :ThumbsUp:  water pump or pressure oiling….. nice! Im definitely watching along this series Brian.

BC1
Jim

Offline rockknocker

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2015, 08:41:57 PM »
I'll be watching as well, micro-pumps like this are very interesting to me, as they have a unique set of challenges. At a previous job we used external gear pumps a bit smaller than this one as fuel pumps for fuel injected engines. To make a long-lasting, efficient, well-sealed high-pressure pump the tolerances *must* *be* *tight*! That said, to make a pump that works for just about everything else it isn't too bad.

I do have a couple questions on the design. What are you using for shaft seals? Shaft seals were one of the biggest problems with the micropumps I've worked with in the past, o-rings didn't seal well enough against pressure in this environment, and u-cup seals were all custom, and still didn't fix the problem entirely. Also, why are both shafts protruding from the pump? Are both shafts being driven, or are the bearings external to the seals?

It looks like a nice design! I can't wait to see some pump-shaped metal!

Offline Brian Rupnow

• Barrie, Ontario Canada
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2015, 08:48:19 PM »