Author Topic: Adding a DRO to my mill  (Read 7693 times)

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Adding a DRO to my mill
« on: September 13, 2014, 02:39:44 PM »
Having dodged a domestic crisis this week by managing to repair the 14 year old washing machine for the umpteenth time by simply replacing the motor brushes at a total cost of 3.50 I decided to quickly spend the money saved on a DRO for my mill ;-)

I decided to go with magnetic scales due to their compactness and a graphical type readout for it's easy of use, pictures show manufacture of the mounting bracket for the x-axis and the installation so far.

Simon.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Online Jo

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12684
  • Hampshire, england.
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2014, 03:41:01 PM »
Having dodged a domestic crisis this week by managing to repair the 14 year old washing machine for the umpteenth time by simply replacing the motor brushes at a total cost of 3.50

I will keep my fingers crossed that it doesn't go again in a time frame that anyone might remember what you spent the money on  :LittleDevil:

Sexy has been trying to talk me into buying him a DRO and as he is an  :old: imperialist I have been tempted but most cheap DRO's don't go as accurate as he does so I have been avoiding it and using large diameter dial gauges.

Who did you buy it from and if we can ask  :-X what did it cost.

Jo
Usus est optimum magister

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2014, 04:06:16 PM »
It was a toss up between Colin at CBR and Machine DRO who were both very helpful - Colin couldn't supply the magnetic scales (and didn't recommend them) and was also more expensive for the display so Machine DRO got my order.

Cough 700 cough, so yes the all the boring domestic appliances need to keep going for a good while yet.  My only excuse was I was egged on by Chris (modelsteam) and Jim (ImIndoors)  :mischief:

Simon.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Online Jo

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12684
  • Hampshire, england.
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2014, 04:45:00 PM »
 :o You can get two for that price. Eric has expensive magnetics on all of his and wouldn't recommend glass scales  :noidea:

I wait to hear how good it is.

Jo
Usus est optimum magister

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2014, 05:16:19 PM »
Maybe - I know the graphical displays are more expensive than the LCD's and the mag scales are more expensive than the glass - don't think twice though.

Perhaps Colin is prepared to cut you a better deal than he was me!

Simon.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Offline vcutajar

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2484
  • Marsascala, MALTA
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2014, 05:20:52 PM »
Simon, I am sure you won't regret using linear magnetic encoders.  I have three on my mill and they are a godsend if you do not want to loose axis travel.  I got them also from M-DRO.  One of the heads was faulty but was quickly replaced.

One thing I did which I do not know if it will make a difference was to replace all the fixing hardware they sent with non-magnetic stainless hardware.

Vince

Online Jo

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12684
  • Hampshire, england.
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2014, 05:21:40 PM »
Yes the graphical displays are a lot more expensive, Colin and I had a good chat about them. The major advantage being that you can work with the item on a slant and it does the co-ordinate corrections taking into account the slant angle.

I could have done with that today but I got away with drawing it up in Alibre and rotating it to the required angle then reading off the co-ordinates  ;).

Jo
Usus est optimum magister

Arbalest

  • Guest
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2014, 06:07:13 PM »
Looking forward to seeing your install progress Simon. Very wise to fit Magnetic scales I reckon given some of the gripes I've read about the glass ones. Should be fit and forget.   ;)

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2014, 09:16:17 PM »
Here's the display mounted to the wall.  One thing I forgot to ask Machine DRO was how careful you need to be with mag bases around mag scales?

Simon.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2014, 10:56:00 AM »
Y-axis install now done, just Z to do and Z is looking tricky if want to have a cover to shield the scale from swarf - which I do.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2014, 07:00:34 PM by sco »
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Offline Mosey

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1585
  • Rosemont, New Jersey, USA
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2014, 01:18:16 PM »
I take it that you drilled and tapped into the table and machine base to mount these?
Mosey

Arbalest

  • Guest
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2014, 02:37:03 PM »
That's a very neat installation Simon.  :ThumbsUp:

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #12 on: September 14, 2014, 03:11:37 PM »
 The mill did come pre drilled and tapped but most of the holes have been in the wrong place.

Z is proving a bit more of a challenge....

Simon.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #13 on: September 14, 2014, 07:04:03 PM »
Used some angle to mount the Z-axis scale so that it faces the operator - might seem to make more sense to mount it directly on the side of the column but that will make fitting the shield much more tricky.

Still need to stick the magnetic strips on and align the reader heads and fabricate the shields...

Simon.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Online Jim Nic

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
  • Buckingham, UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #14 on: September 14, 2014, 08:51:48 PM »
Looking very neatly done Simon. 
Just one query in my mind, as I see it you have the Z axis read out measuring the position of the head but do you have any indication of the position of the quill?
Jim
The person who never made a mistake never made anything.

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #15 on: September 14, 2014, 09:11:01 PM »
Hi Jim,

I think I use my mill the opposite to you - so on mine the quill feed just has some crude 1mm divisions so I use the head fine feed which has 0.05mm divisions for precision work.  So I have the dro for the position of the head and will continue to use the quill for drilling when I'm not fussy on depth.

With them being magnetic do you have to take care with mag bases?

Simon.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #16 on: September 15, 2014, 09:29:49 PM »
Only had half an hour of play time in the workshop tonight but can already see the benefit of the graphical display - picture below shows using the PCD function - you can set the start and end angle and it updates the picture to show your entered parameters.  So I entered a start angle of 25 degrees and end angle of 360 degrees with 8 holes - as you work through the holes it updates the display so you can see where you are - surely much less chance of lulus!

Simon.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Online Jim Nic

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
  • Buckingham, UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #17 on: September 15, 2014, 11:28:58 PM »
Hi Simon

On the very rare occasions that I have used magnetic bases I can't say I noticed any interference with the mag tracks on my DRO. I would be surprised if such a thing did occur given the close proximity that the read head has to be to the track in use.
Nice display, wish I had one of those.  You will, I am sure, have realised that in your run through of the PCD function you have ended up with unevenly spaced holes because you omitted to add your offset starting angle to the final position. (or is it subtract - no matter, your lovely display will show you when you have it right  ;) ).
Jim
The person who never made a mistake never made anything.

Online Jo

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12684
  • Hampshire, england.
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #18 on: September 19, 2014, 07:30:22 AM »
I do like that ability of the graphical displays but sadly it looks like my next mill won't be getting one as the machine I am looking at already has a Topaz display with Spherosyn linear encoders  :whoohoo:

All I need is to find the space for it  :slap:

Jo
Usus est optimum magister

Offline Jasonb

  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6665
  • Surrey, UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #19 on: September 19, 2014, 07:50:00 AM »
You could always buy a better display than the Topaz which would take the scales ;)

Got your heart set on that one then :cartwheel:

J

PS Do you think I will get a finders fee

Online Jo

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12684
  • Hampshire, england.
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #20 on: September 19, 2014, 07:52:01 AM »
If you are quick you might get one of my muffins  ;)

Jo
Usus est optimum magister

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #21 on: September 19, 2014, 08:24:57 AM »
Quick at what?

And what's this about a new mill - Sexy is barely bedded in surely?

Simon.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Online Jo

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12684
  • Hampshire, england.
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #22 on: September 19, 2014, 08:42:07 AM »
 :embarassed: I have only arranged to go and have a little look.

I might just take my cheque book :mischief:

Jo
Usus est optimum magister

Offline Jasonb

  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6665
  • Surrey, UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #23 on: September 19, 2014, 08:43:35 AM »
Simon, I think jo feels the need for something larger!

Jo Keep your muffins hot, I won't be long and I come bearing gifts.

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #24 on: September 19, 2014, 08:53:53 AM »
I've been hankering after something smaller;

http://www.lathes.co.uk/advertphoto/140916boleydrill/
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Offline Jasonb

  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6665
  • Surrey, UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #25 on: September 19, 2014, 08:59:30 AM »
You don't want one of those, no use for through holes as there is no clearance hole in the table :LittleDevil:

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #26 on: September 19, 2014, 10:09:46 AM »
Just needs some lateral thinking....

Enjoy Jo's muffins.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Online Jo

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12684
  • Hampshire, england.
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #27 on: September 19, 2014, 02:13:43 PM »
They didn't last long  ;)

Jo
Usus est optimum magister

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #28 on: September 19, 2014, 02:31:17 PM »
Never mind the muffins what about the mill?
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Offline ths

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1801
  • Kangaroo Valley, NSW, Australia
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #29 on: September 19, 2014, 03:12:02 PM »

They didn't last long  ;)

Jo

What are those interesting looking wooden items? Hugh.

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #30 on: September 19, 2014, 03:27:26 PM »
One of them looks like the music box from Camberwick Green.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Offline Jasonb

  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6665
  • Surrey, UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #31 on: September 19, 2014, 03:31:32 PM »
Jo will be hoping to get a different tune out of them, and I did leave some non metalic stuff with you and will return tose whan complete along with the third one(s)

You could always share a photo of your intended new addition.

J

PS Lovely pair of muffins :embarassed:

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #32 on: September 19, 2014, 03:32:55 PM »
I counted three wrappers!
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Offline Jasonb

  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6665
  • Surrey, UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #33 on: September 19, 2014, 03:39:00 PM »
A gentleman does not eat them all ;)

Forgot to say we also had a measure up to see who's was biggest.

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #34 on: September 19, 2014, 03:52:55 PM »
What's all this polluting my hi-tech thread with rough old castings, bits of wood and food items anyway?
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Online Stuart

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1782
  • Tilchestune UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #35 on: September 19, 2014, 03:59:22 PM »


PS Lovely pair of muffins :embarassed:

not heard them called that before :mischief: :mischief:

Stuart
My aim is for a accurate part with a good finish

Online Stuart

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1782
  • Tilchestune UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #36 on: September 19, 2014, 04:04:24 PM »
Jo

the topaz head end is quite good but the new head end is about 700 and does just about the same a few more bells and do dahs
I have a microsyn setup on the mill with the latest head end they do have a 5 year GT though more info you can mix the scales micro and spherosyn and well as resolution with no problems and the rods are sold without the reader head


Stuart

My aim is for a accurate part with a good finish

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #37 on: September 19, 2014, 09:22:36 PM »
Got some plastic angle designed for flight case edges fitted to protect the scales - install pretty much finished!

Simon.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Offline arnoldb

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1338
  • Windhoek, Namibia
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #38 on: September 21, 2014, 06:54:19 PM »
That's a nice tidy installation Simon  :ThumbsUp:

You'll enjoy the DRO system.

Kind regards, Arnold
Building an engine takes Patience, Planning, Preparation and Machining.
Procrastination is nearly the same, but it precludes machining.
Thus, an engine will only be built once the procrastination stops and the machining begins!

Online Jo

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12684
  • Hampshire, england.
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #39 on: September 21, 2014, 07:01:14 PM »
It is pretty  :Love:

:thinking: It seems to be missing a power feed  :mischief:.

Jo
Usus est optimum magister

Online sco

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1635
  • Location: Northants UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #40 on: September 21, 2014, 08:51:19 PM »
It's not missing any such thing mischief maker  ;D  Have found a bug with the calculator function though  >:(

How did the potential purchase turn out?

Simon.
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Online Jim Nic

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
  • Buckingham, UK
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #41 on: September 21, 2014, 08:52:30 PM »
Very neat Simon, we like neat.   ;D  But please, no more picture of the graphic display or I'm going to be feeling a pain in the wallet. 
Jim
The person who never made a mistake never made anything.

Online Jo

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12684
  • Hampshire, england.
Re: Adding a DRO to my mill
« Reply #42 on: September 21, 2014, 09:13:23 PM »
How did the potential purchase turn out?

 :disappointed: It had a noisy head: the PTFE bushes had gone in the varispeed pulleys and the power quill feed was not engaging, so it will be 1250   :o for the parts plus the repair cost. Luckily I had someone with many years experience in the trade to take with me to advise on these things, so with the price he can keep it :ThumbsDown:.

And as making space in the workshop for it was going to be hard work when I find one it will have to be a really, really good one  ;)

Eric left me with the Feeney castings to make me feel a bit better, as well as the required bits of come in handy to make my Titan 60  :whoohoo: Just need to finish this Versatile Dividing Head

Jo
« Last Edit: September 22, 2014, 05:17:16 PM by Jo »
Usus est optimum magister