Author Topic: Nigel From West London UK  (Read 7926 times)

Offline Ratchap

Re: Nigel From West London UK
« Reply #15 on: May 23, 2014, 09:31:23 AM »
at the moment i am just starting out in 2mm FS  but  yes the detail is amazing . however you can buy very little ( nothing) ready made  its all scratch build hence the late or from kits.
I wonder if any one could help with the thread size for the norfolk late chuck . I have a supplier who can possible help but needs the thread size.
what do you mean it wont fit  Get a bigger hammer

Offline steamer

• Global Moderator
  • Central Massachusetts, USA
« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2014, 09:36:48 AM »
Welcome Nigel!

Wot GailNM said!

Dave
"Mister M'Andrew, don't you think steam spoils romance at sea?"
Damned ijjit!

Offline Jo

• Administrator
  • Hampshire, england.
« Reply #17 on: May 23, 2014, 09:49:25 AM »

I wonder if any one could help with the thread size for the norfolk late chuck .

The Adept/flexispeed had a 1/2" BSF thread. But that does not mean they did the same on the Norfolk you really need to measure it.

Jo
Enjoyment is more important than achievement.

Offline Ian S C

• Stirling Engine Maker Darfield Canterbury N Z
« Reply #18 on: May 23, 2014, 01:09:43 PM »
My Super Adept has 3/8 BSF thread for the chuck, seems there where a few different sizes.
                                                   Ian S C

Offline ths

• Kangaroo Valley, NSW, Australia
« Reply #19 on: May 23, 2014, 01:26:56 PM »
Nigel, my Flexispeed, which is just about identical to the Norfolk, has a 1/2" BSF thread, and the register, just behind the threaded portion of the spindle, is a very neat .500 diameter. Try measuring that, using a thread gauge or a tap will identify the tpi. If the register is larger, it may be 14mm, which I think may be the Perris/Cowells version. Hugh.

Offline Ratchap

« Reply #20 on: May 23, 2014, 08:45:40 PM »
think i will have to either  buy a selection of BSF nuts   or a thread guage

Many thanks folks