Author Topic: Making a flywheel from scratch - revisited  (Read 7060 times)

Offline NickG

• Global Moderator
Re: Making a flywheel from scratch - revisited
« Reply #15 on: May 11, 2014, 02:52:47 PM »
Looks great that, often see the weights in tesco and wonder whether it's doable - now I know it is! Thanks.

Offline BaronJ

• Grumpy Old Git !
« Reply #16 on: May 11, 2014, 08:20:12 PM »
Thanks to everyone for your kind words.

Another hint I have discovered for anyone wanting to try this - some of these weights, probably the larger ones, are not cast iron but plastic coated concrete!!! Now I am no expert, but I doubt that any of you could do this with one of those.  :hellno:

Ian.

Hi Ian,

You need to carry a magnet when you go to buy one !

I used a 10" diameter weight for my tapping stand base.

Best Regards:  Baron.

I don’t regret the things I’ve done, I regret the things I didn’t do when I had the chance.

Offline gunna

• Melbourne, Oz.
« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2014, 09:50:52 AM »
I may be wrong in this, and someone will correct me if so, but I think the trick to machining cast iron is to make the initial cut as deep as the lathe will permit (within limits of course) and go right in under the hard skin in one pass. It sounds brutal but I think that is the way. Maybe grinding a little from an edge to give somewhere for the tool to enter first.

Ian.

ps Nice stand, Baron.

Offline steamer

• Global Moderator
  • Central Massachusetts, USA
« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2014, 10:55:28 AM »
Wot gunna said!....

I still like carbide for stuff like that though....but I hate cheap iron....with hard spots.... >:( it's dirty enough as it is without being a PITA to cut also!

Dave
"Mister M'Andrew, don't you think steam spoils romance at sea?"
Damned ijjit!

Offline NickG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2014, 01:01:35 PM »