Author Topic: Webster IC with Magneto Ignition  (Read 3299 times)

Offline BlueRock

Webster IC with Magneto Ignition
« on: May 11, 2014, 11:26:02 PM »
Hi, I've been working on my Webster IC build for a couple of years now (started in mid 2012) and it’s been a bit on and off again with other projects vying for my attention. I'm now pushing forward with the build, time permitting. This is my first engine build and I started a thread over on HMEM but I’m not keen with the direction that site has gone over the last few years so to recap, this is how I got to where I am at with the build.

My build is a little different as I'm using bearings rather than bushes for the big end and the mains. I'm also using a magneto ignition system off an old line trimmer that I bought from a recycling centre for $5.

To lap in the cylinder bore, I made a lap from brass and it can be expanded by tightening up two grub screws that force open the the slit that runs along the length of the lap. I used diamond paste with the lap that I rotated slowly in the drill press, while moving the cylinder up and down, using progressively finer paste with the lap until I had a pretty smooth finish inside the bore.

The crank is silver soldered together. Until this build, I'd always used 2-5% silver solder when soldering up larger mechanical parts or copper pipe. However, I soon found that this percentage solder appears to not be suitable for finer work as it does not flow as readily as 45% that I ended up getting hold of to do the crank. I left about 0.10mm (0.004") clearance between the parts of the crankshaft for the solder to flow into the joint.

Offline PJW

Re: Webster IC with Magneto Ignition
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 12:23:15 AM »