Author Topic: Women shouldn't be engineers  (Read 10053 times)

Online sco

Re: Women shouldn't be engineers
« Reply #30 on: January 11, 2014, 09:28:39 PM »
Kew's on my list of places to visit - why not hold the first stationary group meeting there?
Ars longa, vita brevis.

Offline DaveH

• Kempton Park. RSA
« Reply #31 on: January 11, 2014, 09:56:42 PM »
This is one study regarding divorce by profession. 
http://lexfridman.com/blogs/thoughts/2012/04/14/divorce-rates-by-profession/

A quote from it.
The table below identifies that the highest divorce rates are for dancers, bartenders, and massage therapists, all around 40%. Perhaps the extroverted nature of these job reflects a personality that is unwilling to commit or quickly gets tired of the same old thing. The occupations with the lowest divorce rates (of less than 10%) mostly seem to be engineers. I was very surprised to read this, because of the intellectual and mental toll that a lot of these jobs take. The engineers I know become extremely passionate about their work, which I assumed can take away from the marriage. But perhaps it doesn’t. There’s hope for us nerds after all.

So women and engineering shouldn't be a problem for divorce, unless of course it's women.  Dancers and massage therapists -more women than men, not sure about bartenders.  :LittleDevil:   :Jester:

:cheers:
DaveH

Offline DaveH

• Kempton Park. RSA
« Reply #32 on: January 11, 2014, 10:30:41 PM »
“Women shouldn’t be Engineers” Well I disagree I think they should.  :ThumbsUp:
The main reason in my day that females didn’t become Engineers was exposure. At school whilst I was doing woodwork and metalwork the girls were doing domestic science and needlework and that set the trend.

I always fancied domestic science, they use to make some very nice cakes.  :whoohoo:

Any of you think that women can’t be good engineers just look what women did during the war. The unsung heroes
DaveH

Offline bp

• Adelaide, SA