Author Topic: Flash Steam Engine and Steam Coil  (Read 36818 times)

Offline edmund

Re: Flash Steam Engine and Steam Coil
« Reply #60 on: January 10, 2014, 10:54:41 AM »
Hi Lohring,
I understand that data loggers will work perfectly for rpm measurement but if you don't have one..
An -on board- sound recorder might do the trick as well.
You clearly accomplished your goals by setting records, you already earned my respect for doing that.
My goal is or at least I am aiming to make a engine which is as fuel efficient as a a modern IC engine and is not too big or too expensive for mobile applications.
So I have a lot to think about. I might have seen something like that cyclone power thing in the past but I haven't seen any figures about efficiency. I did not yet read the whole  part in detail because it is not my first priority.
My biggest problem now is how to make a speed/power control. Electronic control can help a lot but I have no knowledge to build that, pure mechanical isn't so easy either. At least I haven't found
a simple solution for that.
I am truly impressed by the amount of power your and other flash engines produce and although the poppet valve system works obviously very well for high power output and small dimensions,  I am looking for another solution because I am afraid of problems if I want to scale up such an engine.
That is one reason why I want to “flash” into the cylinder and not before.
The dimensions wow that is something else, even one HP is not the same as “our” or general accepted -pk- which means hp  too :-). ( I am not saying -pk- is a good dimension, it should  be Watt)
It doesn't make life easier, and when I am looking at a English steam table, all I see is a bunch of numbers that doesn't mean anything to me. I have to recalculate to know what it actually means.
I am looking forward to your new records. ( and speed control )

Edmund

Offline edmund

« Reply #61 on: January 10, 2014, 11:43:11 AM »
Edmond,