Author Topic: Newcomen Engine  (Read 4512 times)

Offline Tinkerer58

Newcomen Engine
« on: November 04, 2013, 11:20:07 AM »
I am currently working on drawings to build a model Newcommen, again not all that much information about, I have everything that is available on the net. Being a beginner I'm just going by the seat of my pants and see where I end up. I love jumping in boots and all, I find it the quickest way to learn. I am currently working on a 2" dia cylinder with a 5" stroke. Having problems with pump and valve gear design at the moment, and I'm trying to decide the best way to construct the piston. I'm trying to keep it looking as close as possible in keeping with the look of the era. Obviously I will have to make some allowances for the lack of my expertise, size and modern materials. I also would like it to operate at about the same speed as the originals operated, I have seen the Sussex kit and its way too fast and only depicts the concept and does not capture the real construction of the engine. I am hoping to find a way of also aging the timber work without having to leave it out in the weather for the next five years LOL.
Any recommendations or pump plans that may be adapted and modified, or even some valve gear that would be in keeping with what I'm trying to achieve would all be very helpful. Once I have drawings of any significance I will post them for comment and for anyone who would like to do the build as a challenge.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2013, 08:18:35 PM by b.lindsey »
I just wanna be in me bloody shed.

Offline b.lindsey

• Global Moderator
  • Dallas, NC, USA
    • Workbench-Miniatures
Re: Newcomen Engine
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2013, 12:03:41 PM »
Tinkerer,