Author Topic: CamCalc. The weird lobe-calculator  (Read 27787 times)

Offline MuellerNick

• Germany // Outback of Munich
    • Motor-Manufaktur
CamCalc. The weird lobe-calculator
« on: September 24, 2013, 09:46:39 PM »
Hi!

Since many years, I'm interested in the theory of cams (the lobes to be prices). I have written some programs for my own use.
About a year ago, I came up with a distinct way to calculate lobes. I couldn't find any references about my way. Only one, that was just half of my solution.
But thinking about programming it, I decided that it will be too much time-consuming.
So I gave up programming that.

Just last Saturday, I stumbled over a programming-environment, that seemed to offer some of the building blocks I would have needed. So on Sunday, I started programming. This evening, I finally got that crap running (the language is quite weird).
The result is quite crude and basic. It still is waaaaay off of my initial idea.

But, I decided to share my result with you. At least as it is now, it is of some help.

The language chosen is Pd or Pure Date. This is an environment for programming music, videos and Midi. Not exactly a match for physics and mathematics. hahaha.
BUT! The environment is free. Have a look at www.puredata.info and download the Pd-extended version.

So first, you need some instructions how to use my crap:
In the upper left, you'll find boxes (for numbers) named:
h (the lift)
Theta (the timing angle)
R (the base circle's radius
and rs (the tip radius)
These are the only fields where you have/should enter values (one more field later).

You enter values by clicking the box, typing the value and then hit return. Or you click inside and drag the value up/down (pressing shift changes the decimals).

Obey the field "resulting chest radius". Its value must be positive!

Now, you can play with your values to get a harmonic lobe.