Author Topic: Spraymist Ramblings  (Read 10795 times)

Bogstandard

Spraymist Ramblings
« on: April 27, 2013, 01:25:39 AM »
I was asked by another member to show this on here.

This is NOT a be all and end all posting, but an insight into what I did to get away from flood coolant.

What I eventually ended up with was a unit that worked perfectly for me, and even though I didn't eventually get to finish building ones for all my machines (my private life collapsed around me), this prototype, as shown, is still up and running perfectly, with no airborne mist problems usually associated with this type of unit.

Just a reminder, what I show is how I do things, other people may have other ways to achieve the same results.

So, away we go.

########################################################################

I have been using flood coolant for many years, but since my new machines were installed, I have only ever used it on my mill, never on the lathe. This project, if it works, will get me away from flood coolant altogether, and I will make a spraymist unit for the four machines that require it, lathe, mill, surface grinder and power hacksaw.
Having read both good and bad reports about spraymist, I have decided that good far outweighs the bad, and with a little redesign of a cheapo unit, I should be able to eliminate some of the bad faults.

I think the main complaint is that the mist gets airborne, and soon fills up the shop. I hope to get my systems using very small quantities of air and only tiny amounts of coolant. To such an extent, it will be a total loss system, just a quick wipe up in the area you are working in after you have finished.

Please remember, this is experimentation on my part, and really the results won't be known for a fair while, as I play about with different size and design of nozzle. But what I will be doing first off, should get me a basic working system.