Author Topic: Elmer's #15 - Fancy  (Read 14714 times)

Offline arnoldb

• Administrator
  • Windhoek, Namibia
Elmer's #15 - Fancy
« on: July 21, 2012, 06:51:56 PM »
This will be a slightly edited re-post of the second engine I built; Elmer Verburg's #15 - Fancy.

When I started building this engine exactly three years ago to this weekend, I was a very raw beginner with only a lathe and drill press, and a bare minimum of tools.

It took me three weeks and a lot of hard work to finish back then.  Given the shop-load of tooling I have acquired since then, I could most likely build this same engine to the same sort of finishes in a single day or two, but it would not feel the same, and I wouldn't learn nearly as much as I did back then.  This little engine still occupies a prized position in my little collection, as well as in my heart.

Many of the people who inspired, helped and just plain egged me on during the original build are members here on MEM - I still can not thank you gents enough. 

We all have to start somewhere  :) 

25 July 2009:
I started on Elmer's Fancy, and will build as close to original plans as possible, but to the highest finish I can.
Deviation from the original build plans will be to make shafts, holes and screws to the closest metric equivalents, I'll be using aluminium for the column and might "personalise" the flywheel.

Started with the column - turned the bottom dowel, turned space for the decorative foot, and turned the rest down to 5/8" up to the chuck as suggested by Elmer. Then laid out for the rest of the detail:

Part-way through turning the detail:

Nearly made a boo-boo on the taper bit; calculated the angle at which to set the topslide from Elmer's dimensions (nice doing trigonometry for a change), but forgot to halve it! Fortunately I realised this in time, as the initial cut angle just looked wrong.

This is where I stopped: